Aryabhata Awards for Dr Ballal, R S Shettian, Punaroor


Bangalore, Mar 30: Aryabhata Cultural Organisation (Regd) has announced its 35th annual ‘Aryabhata Awards’ for the year 2009. Three well known personalities from Dakshina Kannada district figure in the list of awardees.

‘Aryabhata Awards’ were instituted by the organization in commemoration of the successful launching of ‘Aryabhata’ satellite into the spce orbit by the country. Since its inception, Aryabhata Awards are being given annually to those personalities, who have exemplary accomplishments to their credit, in the fields of science, education, literature, arts, community service and sports.

Prof (Dr) H S Ballal, pro chancellor of Manipal University has been chosen for his contribution in the field of medical education.

In the field of healthcare, R S Shettian, managing director of Mangalore-based Athena Hospital gets the Aryabhata Award.

Former state Kannada Sahitya Parishat president, Harikrishna Punaroor, is the other personality selected by the organization for the award, for his meritorious accomplishments in the field of social service.

These prestigious state level awards, comprising a glittering memento and a citation, will be presented to the awardees at a colourful awards presentation ceremony scheduled to be held on April 9, 2010 at Ravindra Kala Kshetra in the city, in the presence of prominent personalities, a release from the organization stated.









Credits :Daijiworld Media Network – Mangalore (SP)